Terry Hawkins Industries, Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada.     (902) 875-4333         THI@TerryHawkinsIndustries.com
THI Fibreglass Traffic Signs & Sign Posts
THI Safe-T-Post sign posts

THI Sign-Mark-Sign® System Testimonials

Engineered fibreglass traffic signs made by Terry Hawkins Industries Limited (THI) were first introduced in 2005. Until 2008, commercial businesses, restaurants, taverns, and stores with some municipal orders for specialty signs made up the bulk of these orders.

In March of 2008 the Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal (DoT), province of Nova Scotia approved the Terry Hawkins Industries Limited engineered fibreglass traffic sign for government Tender and use on the province’s roads.

Since 2008, several orders numbering close to 5,000 signs have been delivered to the province with all of them supplied to regional DoT divisions for installation. Most of these are still up on Nova Scotia roads.
Another 5,000 signs were supplied to municipalities and private clients, altogether, over 10,000 signs delivered.

Eight years of use including five years of provincial government Department of Transportation service and zero complaints reported during use. During all this time, decals selected by our clients were almost exclusively cut from 3M film.  All government decals are cut from 3M film.
In 2010, the THI engineered fibreglass traffic sign was renamed SIGN-MARK-SIGN®

Today, THI supplies fibreglass traffic sign blanks to government sign shops and commercial sign shops for film application before delivery to end users as finished signs. 3M film continues to be the most popular product applied to these blanks by clients.

What Our Customers Say

NOTE:






Brian Evans, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Lunenburg County, NS
“The man who installs the signs”,Chester DoT Office,
Interviewed : 25 July 2013

When asked how he felt about fibreglass traffic signs, he responded with great feeling:

“Better than those aluminum signs!I have no negative feedback from the installation crews and we have been putting them (S-M-S® fibreglass signs) up since the beginning, back in 2008.

Our biggest headache is theft and that doesn’t affect fibreglass signs, they want aluminum for cladding on their camps.”



Mr. Roland Acker, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Kings County, NS
Division Crewman (Installs all signs), Berwick DoT Office,
Interviewed : 26 July 2013

Roland said:
"They stand up pretty good, a lot better than aluminum or wood.We like the turquoise back colour best.
Sometimes when hit with really heavy wet slush and snow from a snow plow, the holes will break out, but that happens with both wood and aluminum too.”


When questioned about theft, the whole crew laughed:
“We have a lot of theft of aluminum signs here.

Graffiti is a problem, mostly on STOP signs, your anti graffiti treatment would be a big help there.”




William (Bill) Thurston, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Yarmouth NS
Operations Supervisor

Interviewed : 23 July 2013

Bill installs around 200 signs a year, both replacement and new construction.
“No complaints about fibreglass traffic signs what so ever.
Fibreglass is more durable.”
he says.

He likes this feature of the THI fibreglass traffic sign:
“It will bend a bit and return to its original shape unlike aluminum. Once it  bends, it stays bent.
I started using fibreglass as soon as it was approved for tender back in March 2008.”



Steve Whynot, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Queens County, NS
Base Clerk, Maintenance Base, Liverpool, Region of Queens,
Interviewed : 24 July 2013

Orders 300 to 400 traffic signs per year.
“I order all traffic signs for this area, from the Lunenburg Line to La Quelle in Annapolis County, then over to Shelburne County.”

Steve said:
“Fibreglass signs are easier to handle.
None of them pop off where you insert the bolt, very strong.
Theft is still the major factor with both posts and signs.”

He went on to say:
“I have been putting them up since the beginning and would like to see more.”



Peter Hirtle, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Lunenburg County, NS
Baseman 2, 449 Jubilee Road, Hebbville,
Interviewed : 25 July 2013
Peter told us:
“I put up 2,000 to 3,000 signs every year.
I order 75 to 80% of all the signs in Bridgewater.

I am not aware of any issues with fibreglass traffic signs.

Theft continues to be a big issue.
For example, the name Rhodenizer, which can be spelled Rodenfifer,  Rodenhiser,  Rodenhizer, or Rodeniser is a very common name here. There are many roads with some version of that name. Signs are stolen for the name, the chance to have a sign with your name on it  up in your room.”



Scott Walsh, Nova Scotia Department of Transportation and Infrastructure, Kings County, NS
Baseman 2, New Minus DoT Office,
Interviewed : 26 July 2013

Scott told us, “We have no observable problems with fiberglass traffic signs.”



Bryant Newell, Town of Clarks Harbour, Nova Scotia
Public Works, Town of Clarks Harbour
Interviewed 07 August 2013

Bryant placed his first order in June of 2010.
When asked how they are standing up out there in Clarks Harbour fully exposed to the North Atlantic Ocean in the only town on Cape Sable Island he said:

“Everything seems to be great.

No fading what-so-ever, no decals pulling away, and one sign has been out there a long time. No fading at all.”

About theft, he said:
“Most people in Clarks Harbour are pretty honest.”
A little graffiti around Hall’oween only.”



Dylan Heide, Town of Shelburne, Nova Scotia
Chief Administrative Officer Town of Shelburne
Interviewed: 27 August 2013

Dylan said:

“THI fibreglass traffic signs are satisfactory for us.


We have not ordered too many as yet, but those we have, suited our purposes very well.”



Allan Reid, President and CEO of Waterfront Investments includes the Sea Dog Restaurant and Sea Dog
Kayak Rentals in Shelburne, Nova Scotia was the first client to order THI fibreglass signs in 2005,.
Interviewed: 12 August 2013
Allan has continued to place several orders for more signs over the years. He says:

"I have used every type of fibreglass sign made by THI, fibreglass with no gel coat on the  back,with gel coat on the back, and with paint, both both enamel and latex.
I have used signs they made with decals applied to bare fibreglass and even over gel coat.
All these signs were used outdoors, exposed to every kind of weather a coastal Nova  Scotia town can offer, year around.
I used to use plywood in my highway signs and white gator board in my sandwich boards and white boards, advertising my daily specials. Plywood usually costs more and gator board costs less than fibreglass but they just don’t stand up.”


Allan was the person who first suggested Terry Hawkins develop a flat fibreglass panel suitable for display signs.
This customer has been buying THI fibreglass traffic signs since 2005. Allan’s THI fibreglass signs measure 4 ft x 8 ft.
Most of his signs use decals made from 3M film.



Captain Ken Taylor owner of Shelburne Harbour Boat Tours
started buying THI fibreglass signs to advertise his business in 2008 and 2009.
Captain Taylor continues to order fibreglass signs from us to advertise his business.
Interviewed: 26 August 2013

He said:
"I think they’re good. I have been buying them for four or five years.
My signs are large display signs, sometimes six feet wide by five high.
I have them on HW 103, the Trans-Canada Highway east and west of Shelburne where  they are exposed to all weather and
severe highway salt.
I have no problems with defects or anything. No complaints.

1.
In all cases, supervisors approved these interviews.
2.
Comments were made by individuals named.
3.
Contact information is available on request.